Summer's Promise

"If the highest aim of a captain were to preserve his ship, he would keep it in port forever."
-Saint Thomas Aquinas



Promised by paper preachers
This excitement and sacred release
The hazily imagined twilight streets
As we walk through the debris
You carry your shoes on your shoulder
And I'd carry you all the way
If only you'd want me to be strong
If only you needed me to be whole

But I rest on your shoulder
As the sun scrapes the horizon
And through the tattered sky
I see the endlessness and it's void
I see the myriad of its spectrum
The tint of tilted trails of cotton clouds
I see the eternal promise of renewal
A sting for it's remorseless path
But to your eyes in their shaded shrine
It's just another day yet to shine

And I wonder for a short while
What is the secret of your guile
Keeping your summer clear from thunder
Your dreams free from wonder
Your skills free from taint
Though your force is just so faint
As the beat of your heart soft like rain
That falls outside the misty glass
Beating against it in gentle vain

And I'd love to be unreachable to you
Uncaring as you'd want me to be
And cold, cruel and ever untrue
Saying it'd never be you and me
Like those you could never tell no
Like those who drift in the periphery
When we move in our pathetic flow
Dogged by the ghosts of misery

The ghosts you love more than life
With their chests of struggle and strife
The ones from your shady past
Have come with summer at last
And we both know it's time to go
Though it's our greatest guilt to know
So I'll be gentle and simply say
I give you your vaunted freedom
This young summer's day

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0