Farewell Angelina

"How vain it is to sit down to write when you have not stood up to live."
-Henry David Thoreau



Det tyckes mig bättre att stå utan planer och rusa in i handlingens mitt, än att stå sysslolös med en famn full av värdelösa dagdrömmar. För nu sitter jag ensam med missräkning och ett tungt mått besvikelse som väger på mitt bröst, med bara ett tillfälligt andetag av hopp att lätta mina tankar. Missräkning, det är det enda ordet som tillfyllest stämmer in på min situation, bitter missräkning.

Vad värre är, den åsamkades mig inte av en fiende eller främling, utan som alltid när den är som värst, av en vän.



On a sheer and gravelled pathway,
A serpent of these mountain lands,
I staggered through a landscape gray
Over jagged rock and scorching sands
Until I reached the broken peak.
And from that perch I did spy,
Beyond the mountainscene so bleak,
A bold and promised land neath a golden sky.

In a cradled valley of watered wealth,
Midst towering oak and swelling birch,
Lay our salvation, vindication and health,
Sheltered by its earth-bound church.
These slopes and vine-covered groves
Will keep a salvaged people for the ages,
It will nourish us with its hidden troves
And keep our history within its pages.



Call me any name you like, I will never deny it,
But farewell Angelina, the sky's erupting,
I must go where it's quiet.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0